A Comprehensive Guide: How Many Diary of a Wimpy Kid Books Are There?

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series has captured the hearts of millions of readers around the world. Written by Jeff Kinney, this beloved children’s book series follows the hilarious misadventures of Greg Heffley as he navigates through the challenges of secondary school. If you’ve ever wondered just how many Diary of a Wimpy Kid books there are, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we’ll provide a detailed overview of the series and answer the burning question, “How many Diary of a Wimpy Kid books are there?”

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series: A Brief Overview

Before we delve into the number of books in the series, let’s take a moment to appreciate the journey of Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Jeff Kinney introduced the first book, titled “Diary of a Wimpy Kid,” in 2007. The book’s unique blend of humorous illustrations and relatable storytelling instantly captivated young readers, making it an instant hit.

Since then, the series has grown exponentially, captivating readers with its witty narrative and engaging characters. Greg Heffley’s escapades, presented in a diary format, have struck a chord with children and teenagers alike, making the series a firm favourite on bookshelves.

The Number of Diary of a Wimpy Kid Books

Now, let’s answer the pressing question: How many Diary of a Wimpy Kid books are there? There are currently a total of 17 books in the series, with the 18th, No Brainer due for release in October 2023 at the time of writing. Each book adds a new chapter to Greg Heffley’s life, chronicling his experiences and mishaps in school, with his family, and among friends.

Here is a list of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books in chronological order:

  1. Diary of a Wimpy Kid (2007)
  2. Rodrick Rules (2008)
  3. The Last Straw (2009)
  4. Dog Days (2009)
  5. The Ugly Truth (2010)
  6. Cabin Fever (2011)
  7. The Third Wheel (2012)
  8. Hard Luck (2013)
  9. The Long Haul (2014)
  10. Old School (2015)
  11. Double Down (2016)
  12. The Getaway (2017)
  13. The Meltdown (2018)
  14. Wrecking Ball (2019)
  15. The Deep End (2020)
  16. Big Shot (2021)
  17. Diper Överlöde (2022)


The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series continues to captivate readers with its humorous and relatable storytelling. With a total of 17 books chronicling Greg Heffley’s adventures, there is plenty of laughter and excitement to be found within the pages of this beloved series and hopefully many more to come. Whether you’re a long-time fan or new to the series, the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books are a delightful addition to any young reader’s collection.

You can also find out more about this children’s series on the Wimpy Kid website.


Share this!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *