Navigating the Jack Reacher Universe: How Many Jack Reacher Books Are There?

For aficionados of gripping thrillers and intricate mysteries, the world of Jack Reacher, created by the masterful Lee Child, is a literary haven. A common inquiry among both die-hard fans and curious newcomers centers around a pivotal question: “How many Jack Reacher books are there?”

In this comprehensive guide, we’ll not only answer that burning question but also provide you with a complete list of titles, allowing you to embark on reading through this long-running series.

The Genesis of Jack Reacher


The iconic character Jack Reacher made his debut appearance in Lee Child’s inaugural novel, “Killing Floor,” released in 1997. Little did readers anticipate that this former Military Police major would become the linchpin of an ever-expanding literary realm. With his unyielding presence, physical prowess, and razor-sharp intellect, Jack Reacher swiftly captured the hearts of readers and solidified his status as a beloved figure in the thriller genre.

The Unfolding Saga

As the popularity of Jack Reacher soared, so did the series. Lee Child continued to weave captivating narratives, with each novel presenting a fresh set of challenges for Reacher to overcome. The series evolved over time, transporting readers to diverse locales, introducing formidable adversaries, and testing Reacher’s mettle in various ways.

The Essential Question

Now, let’s address the crucial query: How many Jack Reacher books are there? As of April 2024, there are 28 primary novels in the Jack Reacher series, with thew 29th entry, In Too Deep, being released in October. However, it’s worth noting that Lee Child also penned a handful of short stories and novellas that offer additional glimpses into Reacher’s world.

The Chronological Odyssey

To fully savor the Jack Reacher experience, consider following the novels in chronological order. While each book can be enjoyed as a standalone adventure, reading them in sequence allows you to witness the character’s evolution and appreciate the subtle nuances that render Jack Reacher an enduring literary icon.

The Complete List of Jack Reacher Novels

  1. Killing Floor (1997)
  2. Die Trying (1998)
  3. Tripwire (1999)
  4. The Visitor (2000)
  5. Echo Burning (2001)
  6. Without Fail (2002)
  7. Persuader (2003)
  8. The Enemy (2004)
  9. One Shot (2005)
  10. The Hard Way (2006)
  11. Bad Luck and Trouble (2007)
  12. Nothing to Lose (2008)
  13. Gone Tomorrow (2009)
  14. 61 Hours (2010)
  15. Worth Dying For (2010)
  16. The Affair (2011)
  17. A Wanted Man (2012)
  18. Never Go Back (2013)
  19. Personal (2014)
  20. Make Me (2015)
  21. Night School (2016)
  22. No Middle Name (2017 short story collection)
  23. The Midnight Line (2017)
  24. Past Tense (2018)
  25. Blue Moon (2019)
  26. The Sentinel (2020)
  27. Better Off Dead (2022)
  28. No Plan B (2022)
  29. The Secret (2023)
  30. In Too Deep (Due October 2024)


In conclusion, the Jack Reacher series is an exhilarating expedition through a world of crime, justice, and the enigmatic persona of Jack Reacher.

Armed with a list of 28 main novels and additional short stories, Lee Child has crafted an extensive universe for readers to explore. Whether you’re a seasoned enthusiast or a curious newcomer, delve into this thrilling series for an adrenaline-fueled literary experience like no other. Happy reading!

Share this!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *